Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Connect with us:

District 215 inducts three new board members

LANSING, Ill. (April 27, 2023) – Three new board members are joining District 215’s Board of Education, and all were inducted on Tuesday night.

Annual board reorganization meeting

The purpose of the annual board reorganization meeting is to induct new members, elect a president, vice president, and secretary, and to appoint members to committees. Board members are responsible for establishing a vision, adopting budgets, approving curriculum, establishing student behavior policies, and directing the Superintendent, who oversees the schools in the district.

The powers and duties of the Board of Education can be found in District 215’s policy manual.

Outgoing board members

During District 215’s April regular board meeting, three of the current members were recognized for their tenure and their departure from the board:

  • Rita Oberman, board member since 2011, board president since 2021
  • Morgan Waller, board member since 2019, vice president since 2021
  • Dr. Christopher Dodd, board member since 2021

Newly-inducted board members

District 215 Board
Dominique Newman (Photo provided)

Three new board members were inducted at the annual board reorganization meeting: Jacqueline Terrazas, Patricia Stepp, and Dominique Newman.

Returning to District 215 is Dominique Newman, who previously served as the district’s Assistant to the Superintendent and Board of Education/Public Relations Officer from 2019 to 2022. Additionally, Stepp served on the 215 Board from 2017 – 2021.

In the Lansing Journal’s April 4 Election coverage, each member was asked about their goals and promises for the board.

District 215 Board
Jackie Terrazas (Photo provided)

Terrazas is committed to a vision of high expectations for student achievement and quality instruction, equity for all students, elevation of student voice and parent feedback, improved academics and extracurricular activities, increased cultural competency, and having a collaborative relationship with staff and the community.

Stepp wants to maintain and implement policies and procedures and to ensure all students reach their full potential.

Newman has several goals, including achieving equity for all students in all things; elevation of student voice and parent feedback to the Board of Education; improvement of academics and extracurriculars; rigorous examination of current data, policies, and practices related to student discipline as measured against other Illinois school districts; and improvement of school culture.

District 215 Board
Patricia Stepp (Photo provided)

Officer and committee appointments

Rich Dust was nominated as president, Patricia Stepp was nominated as vice president, and Andrea Ballard was nominated as secretary.

  • IASB Primary & Alternate Representatives — Dominique Newman & Patricia Stepp
  • Buildings/Grounds/Safety Chairperson — Patricia Stepp
  • Curriculum Chairperson — Andrea Ballard
  • Equity Chairperson — Jacqueline Terrazas
  • Finance Chairperson — Diana Jackson
  • I.T. Chairperson — Marcie Wilson
  • Policy Chairperson — Dominique Newman
  • Behavioral Interventions/Parent-Teacher Advisory Committee — Dominique Newman

The District 215 Board meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month. The next regular meeting will be held on May 25, 2023, at 1605 Wentworth Avenue in Calumet City.

Quinton R. Arthur
Quinton R. Arthur
Quinton received his Bachelor of Arts in English from Northern Illinois University and his Master of Science in Journalism from Roosevelt University. In addition to reporting for The Lansing Journal and the Homewood-Flossmoor Chronicle, he volunteers with 100 Black Men of Chicago, Metropolitan Board of the Chicago Urban League, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Burst Into Books, and various other organizations. A south suburban resident since 2004, Quinton is passionate about telling the unsung stories of the community.