Monday, February 26, 2024

Connect with us:

New and long-serving Thornton Township elected officials sworn in

by Ernst Lamothe

SOUTH HOLLAND, Ill. (May 18, 2021) – Brimming with happiness Thornton Township Supervisor Frank M. Zuccarelli was sworn in on Monday, May 17, to his eighth term in that position.

“When you run for office don’t be overly excited and just say you are the man or the woman. The people will let you know that as government officials we serve the people,” said Zuccarelli, who has served since 1993. “I am so thankful for all the people who have helped me in my career.”

“As government officials we serve the people,” said Frank Zuccarelli, who has served as Thornton Township Supervisor since 1993. (Photo provided)

The ceremony took place at Thornton Township’s main headquarters, 333 E. 162nd Street, South Holland.

Zuccarelli has been awarded Township Supervisor of the Year in 1996, 2007, and 2012; and the township has been awarded Township of the Year three times by the Township Officials of Illinois Educational Conference. In addition, Zuccarelli is the recipient of numerous other awards and honors, including:

  • The Chicago Food Depository awards for War on Hunger and Quality Service
  • Community Leader Award
  • Civic Responsibility Award
  • Diversity Inc. Award
  • Distinguished Service Award from the Illinois Committee for Honest Government

“Always understand you have to be respectful of the people who elected you and the people who are on your board,” said Zucarelli. “I think about everyone in the community. I love Thornton Township, and I am not going anywhere yet. We have a few more things we want to do.”

Many people had kind words for Zuccarelli, including Donald Manning, former president of South Suburban College, who introduced Zuccarelli at the swearing-in ceremony. “You have to want to work with people and have it in your heart,” said Manning. “If you tell someone you are going to do something for them, you have to follow through and do it.”

Also sworn in for another term was Joyce M. Washington, Thornton Township’s longest-serving trustee, elected in 1997. Trustee Gerald “Jerry” Jones has served since 2013. Two new trustees were sworn in as well: Darlene Gray Everett and Christopher D. Gonzalez were elected, replacing Norbert Cipowski and Stafford Owens.

Joyce M. Washington (center) is Thornton Township’s longest-serving trustee. (Photo provided)

Thornton Township Assessor Cassandra W. Elston and Township Highway Commissioner Geary “Pepe” DePue were also re-elected. Loretta C. Wells will serve as Township Clerk, replacing Jacki Rivera, who served since 2005.

From left: Clerk Loretta C. Wells, Supervisor Frank M. Zuccarelli, Trustee Christopher D. Gonzalez, Trustee Darlene Gray Everett, Trustee Joyce M. Washington, Judge Jesse Reyes, Assessor Cassandra W. Elston, Commissioner Geary DePue, and Trustee Jerry Jones were sworn in to their elected offices in Thornton Township on Monday, May 18. (Photo provided)
Ernst Lamothe Jr.
Ernst Lamothe Jr.
Ernst Lamothe currently serves as Communications Manager for Thornton Township and brings two decades of journalism experience to that role. "I believe it is important to educate and inform people about their world," he says.