Sunday, June 23, 2024

Connect with us:

The Lansing Journal wins Sweetwater Award

Inaugural award recognizes excellence in advertising

LANSING, Ill. (May 13, 2022) – As part of a virtual conference for online news publishers, the first-ever Sweetwater Award was presented on Friday, May 13. The Lansing Journal was announced as the winner.


The award was initiated by Broadstreet, a digital advertising company that works with independent local news, magazine, and niche media. It was designed to recognize publishers who “go above and beyond in planning, running, and executing an ad campaign. Many publishing awards focus on the journalism side of things — this honors excellence in advertising.”

“I’ve always appreciated that Broadstreet supports a culture of partnership, not just salesmanship,” said Melanie Jongsma, Publisher of The Lansing Journal. The ad campaign that was submitted for the award was chosen not because of the creative artwork or a particular level of revenue, but because of the service provided to the client. The client in this case was South Suburban Heating and Air Conditioning.

“The Lansing Journal took sincere interest in the client and created campaigns according to their goals,” said Broadstreet President Kenny Katzgrau while presenting the award.

The Lansing Journal was one of three finalists for the award. County 10 ( of Fremont County, Wyoming, and Noozhawk ( of Santa Barbara, California, also made the finals.

“I’m really proud of this award,” said Jongsma in a Facebook post. “We work hard for our advertisers—just as we do for our readers—and it’s nice to be recognized for that.”

As winner of the Sweetwater Award, The Lansing Journal will receive an official Sweetwater Award 2022 digital seal for use on their website and media kit, an engraved trophy, and one free year of Broadstreet service.


The Lansing Journal
The Lansing Journal
The Lansing Journal publishes news releases from state, county, and local officials who provide information that impacts local community life. The particular contributor of each post is indicated in the byline.