Heritage Middle School hosts 2022 National Junior Honor Society induction ceremony

National Honor Society
The 2022 inductees of the Lois Harris chapter of the National Honor Society.

Students continue the 23-year tradition of excellence


LANSING, Ill. (April 21, 2022) — On April 21, Heritage Middle School inducted 33 students into the Lois Harris chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. This year’s induction marks 23 years of student involvement and participation. The ceremony took place in Heritage’s Commons room and featured ABC Producer Tony Smith as the keynote speaker.

The National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) is an international student organization with middle school chapters. Students are selected based on representation of the five pillars of the organization: scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship and character.


In her greeting, Sunnybrook School District Superintendent 171 Dr. Erika Millhouse-Pettis shared the same excitement and pride of families in attendance.

“Some of these students I’ve known since they began at Nathan Hale, so it is just an honor to me to watch them grow,” said Dr. Pettis.

During the ceremony, there was a dedication of a Josue Alvarez plaque. Alvarez was an officer in Heritage’s NJHS who died in 2021. In 2023, eighth grade students who exemplify the five pillars will be eligible for the Shine Your Light award, and will be recognized by having their name placed on the plaque.

Keynote speaker Tony Smith, an alumnus of Heritage, spoke about pursing his dream of working with ABC. He encouraged the students to be persistent.

“You will shine, and you will achieve whatever you want. You just have to keep working hard at it,” said Smith.

Former District 171 Employee Anthony Jackson received a Posthumous Award for his service to the school. The ceremony ended with students reciting the NJHS pledge and lighting their candles, the symbol for the organization.

Seventh and Eighth Grade Inductees

This year’s inductees into the National Junior Honor Society seventh grade include: Demaris Cornejo, Jordan Davis, Julianna Galvin, Aaron Hughes, Fortune Ike, Nnenna Ireke, Candace Irvin, Ester Kanlinsou, Fatima Limon, Naxeli Martinez, Arvell Mosley, Fareese Ogunlola, Vanessa Okonkwo, Sarah Perry, Malia Richardson, Alaya Roberts, Giovanni Terrazas, and Lucia Terrazas.

The eighth grade inductees include: Myriam Abduel-Edam, Jemani Bonaparte, SaNyah Childs, Leslie Corral, Jocelyn Cornejo, Barnabas Fajenyo, Raysean Finch, Earehc’ Hill, Maya Howard, Alanna McWilliams, Isaiah Michel, Israel Odusanya, Paloma Jimenez, Mykah Smith, and Joaquin Terrazas.

The students serving as the officers for the year are Fortune Ike, President; Jordan Davis, Vice President; Candace Irvin, Secretary; Lucia Terrazas, Treasurer; and Giovanni Terrazas, Reporter.

Principal of Heritage Middle School Chantelle Cambric left students with words of encouragement for the next phase of life.

“Keep your thoughts positive and remember to be kind with your words,” said Cambric. “Congratulations, continue to strive forward and be the best versions of yourself.”