Friday, September 22, 2023

Connect with us:

Renewal applications mailed for Disabled Veterans and Disabled Persons Exemptions

Application deadline is March 6

information provided by the Cook County Assessors Office

CHICAGO, Ill. (February 2019) – Cook County Assessor Fritz Kaegi announced that his office has mailed thousands of renewal applications for the Disabled Persons and Disabled Veterans Exemptions.

These two exemptions were designed to provide additional property tax relief to veterans with service connected disabilities and non-veterans with disabilities. The application deadline for both exemptions is March 6, 2019.

Disable Veterans Exemption

The Disabled Veterans Exemption reduces the Equalized Assessed Value (EAV) on which property taxes are computed. Recent changes in the law expanded eligibility and increased exemption amounts.

To qualify for the Disabled Veterans Exemption (for the previous tax year 2018) taxpayers must:

  • be an Illinois resident who served as a member of the United States Armed Forces on active duty or state active duty, a member of the Illinois National Guard or U.S. Reserve Forces, and who was honorably discharged
  • own and occupy the property as the primary residence in 2018
  • have a primary residence with an EAV of less than $250,000, excluding the EAV of property used for commercial purposes or rented for more than six months
  • have at least a 30% service-connected disability certified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

The chart below shows exemption amounts, based on percentage of disability, between the prior law and the current law.

*This asterisk was included in the chart provided by the Cook County Assessors Office, but it did not have a corresponding footnote.

Applicants must provide a disability certification letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs as well as Form DD 214 or a Certification of Military Service Form.

Disabled Veterans Exemption applications may also be downloaded from the Assessor’s website using the following link:

Disabled Persons Exemption

The Disabled Persons Exemption provides disabled persons with an annual $2,000 reduction in the EAV of the property.

To qualify for the Disabled Persons Exemption this year (tax year 2018) taxpayers must:

  • be disabled or become disabled during 2018
  • own or have a legal or equitable interest in the property or a leasehold interest in a single-family residence
  • occupy the property as the principal residence on January 1, 2018
  • be liable for payment of property taxes

If a person’s home previously received the exemption, and he or she now resides in a facility licensed under the Nursing Home Care Act, his or her home is still eligible to receive the exemption provided the property is occupied by that person’s spouse, or the property remains unoccupied.

To download a form, taxpayers can follow this link to the application:

“Our office will work throughout the year to reach Cook County taxpayers through our community outreach programs to make them aware of exemptions our office administers and also help them with the application process,” Assessor Kaegi said. “We want to ensure that no taxpayer pays more than his or her fair share of property taxes.”

The Lansing Journal
The Lansing Journal
The Lansing Journal publishes news releases from state, county, and local officials who provide information that impacts local community life. The particular contributor of each post is indicated in the byline.