Thursday, May 30, 2024

Connect with us:

19 TF South students named Illinois State Scholars

by Melanie Jongsma

LANSING, Ill. (December 27, 2018) – Approximately the top ten percent of graduates from approved high schools are announced as State Scholars each year. This year, the following students from TF South High School were announced:

  1. Mya Atkins
  2. Eddie Burras Jr
  3. Elizabeth Chukwulebe
  4. Tristen Clark
  5. Jacquelyn Davidson
  6. Anna Dempsey
  7. Kathy Doan
  8. Joshua Gann
  9. Skylar Gertonson
  10. Matthew Grafenauer
  11. Luis Herrera
  12. Cruz Ibarra Jr
  13. Lucille Lamar
  14. Raelen McCoyne
  15. Daija McDonald
  16. Jadyn Newman
  17. Faithful Ojelabi
  18. Logan Rosinia-Cowan
  19. Kelson Sumners

According to the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, the State Scholar Program recognizes students for outstanding academic achievement. It is an honorary recognition with no monetary award. To be eligible for consideration, students must be Illinois residents who attend approved high schools and take the ACT or SAT before the end of their junior year, performing in the top half of the class and/or scoring at or above the 95th percentile on the ACT or SAT.

Participating high schools receive a Certificate of Achievement for each State Scholar at that school. Students who are named Illinois State Scholars receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC.

TF South High School is located at 18500 Burnham Avenue in Lansing, Illinois.



Melanie Jongsma
Melanie Jongsma
Melanie Jongsma grew up in Lansing, Illinois, and believes The Lansing Journal has an important role to play in building community through trustworthy information.